Ruggero Serrati

Entertainment
By Johnny Meza
For Desert Entertainer
Pianist and vocalist Ruggero Serrati is a restaurant owner, Italian cuisine chef and provides the entertainment at L’Olivo. He sings in eight different languages and has travelled extensively performing his music throughout the world.

He was born in Milan, Italy, to a family of restaurateurs and started taking classical piano lessons at the age of five. His early musical influences included the classical composers like Giuseppe Verdi and opera. “In Italy, it was common for all of the children to learn music and play an instrument,” said Serrati.

Later, he listened to the regular fare of music that included America and Italian Top 40 and commercial music that played on the radio. “I was working in Africa when I first heard the music of the Beatles. That was in 1968.” Learning the restaurant trade from his family, he never had a problem finding a job, but his first passion was playing music.

“I decided to go professional when I was 20 years old. I had a five-piece band called The Serrati Five. We traveled and performed throughout Europe, Africa, Egypt, Cairo and Beirut. When we were in a particular country, we would learn songs in the native tongue. So we could sing in French, English, Spanish, Swedish, Ger-man, Arabic, Egyptian and English.”

Briefly leaving the music scene behind, he got involved in booking bands and entertainment in Switzerland, Europe and Egypt. “After six months, I decided to leave that behind. It was too boring for me and I preferred to play music and entertain.” Following up on a connection he had here in the United States, Serrati moved to California in 1984 and began playing piano and singing at the famous Beverly Hills restaurant Café Roma. “I worked there for two and a-half years.”

Moving on to another Italian restaurant in L.A. called Trilussa, Serrati began venturing to the desert to perform at the Trilussa in Cathedral City and Palm Springs. After six months, he opened his own restaurant called Maggie. “I had that for a while, then I sold it in 2003.”

Eventually the restaurant fell back into his ownership again and he decided to make a go of it under the new name of L’Olivo, which of course means the olive. “I was retired for about six years but I was bored. I was looking to come back to work.”

As a master of almost everything at his restaurant, he wears many hats and cooks, maintains and entertains at his establishment. “I prepare a little food in the kit-chen, then I play a little music in between the orders. It entertains my customers and if they don’t like the music, I know they will like the food, and if they don’t like the food, I know they will like the music,” he chuckled.

You can find him there seven nights a week and if he’s not in the kitchen preparing some of his savory north Italian dishes, you can find him behind his specially designed piano, doing another passion of his, performing and singing some tunes.

Instrument: Piano

Genre: International pop and classics

Pianist and vocalist Ruggero Serrati is a restaurant owner, Italian cuisine chef and provides the entertainment at L’Olivo. He sings in eight different languages and has travelled extensively performing his music throughout the world.

He was born in Milan, Italy, to a family of restaurateurs and started taking classical piano lessons at the age of five. His early musical influences included the classical composers like Giuseppe Verdi and opera. “In Italy, it was common for all of the children to learn music and play an instrument,” said Serrati.

Later, he listened to the regular fare of music that included America and Italian Top 40 and commercial music that played on the radio. “I was working in Africa when I first heard the music of the Beatles. That was in 1968.” Learning the restaurant trade from his family, he never had a problem finding a job, but his first passion was playing music.

“I decided to go professional when I was 20 years old. I had a five-piece band called The Serrati Five. We traveled and performed throughout Europe, Africa, Egypt, Cairo and Beirut. When we were in a particular country, we would learn songs in the native tongue. So we could sing in French, English, Spanish, Swedish, German, Arabic, Egyptian and English.”

Briefly leaving the music scene behind, he got involved in booking bands and entertainment in Switzerland, Europe and Egypt. “After six months, I decided to leave that behind. It was too boring for me and I preferred to play music and entertain.” Following up on a connection he had here in the United States, Serrati moved to California in 1984 and began playing piano and singing at the famous Beverly Hills restaurant Café Roma. “I worked there for two and a-half years.”

Moving on to another Italian restaurant in L.A. called Trilussa, Serrati began venturing to the desert to perform at the Trilussa in Cathedral City and Palm Springs. After six months, he opened his own restaurant called Maggie. “I had that for a while, then I sold it in 2003.”

Eventually the restaurant fell back into his ownership again and he decided to make a go of it under the new name of L’Olivo, which of course means the olive. “I was retired for about six years but I was bored. I was looking to come back to work.”

As a master of almost everything at his restaurant, he wears many hats and cooks, maintains and entertains at his establishment. “I prepare a little food in the kit-chen, then I play a little music in between the orders. It entertains my customers and if they don’t like the music, I know they will like the food, and if they don’t like the food, I know they will like the music,” he chuckled.

You can find him there seven nights a week and if he’s not in the kitchen preparing some of his savory north Italian dishes, you can find him behind his specially designed piano, doing another passion of his, performing and singing some tunes.

Instrument: Piano

Genre: International pop and classics

